Make your own free website on Tripod.com

Contents

Trembath / Vingoe's  go to Australia

wpenmapa.gif (44310 bytes)

Most of  information and all of the photographs have been provided by Jill Silvester from Australia. Jill's husband is a direct descendant of Margaret Vingoe and it is his line that we will follow here.

Henry Trembath

Henry was baptised at the Parish church in Zennor on the south western tip of Britain on the 23rd of May 1816. He was the son of Henry and Jane Trembath (nee Nicholas) and the area he lived during his life in Cornwall is shown on the map above.  If you were to wander around this area  today you would be forgiven for thinking that Henry senior must have worked in agriculture. But a different lanscape would have greeted your eyes in the 1816' for mining was the main employer and the noise of the Tin stamps pounding the ore was deafening. 

In Zennor parish where Henry was born, the local mines, some with romantic sounding names were:- 

Zennor Consols, Carnellow Consols, Wheal Dollor, Wheal Sperris, Wheal Edward, Kerrow or Trewey Downs Mine, Rosemorran, Rose Veal, Wheal Chance, Brea Consols, Wheal Brea, Wheal Trevargen, and Wheal Cleveland.

At the time of his birth it was said that Zennor men were untireable and even those who worked the fields would also find time to hunt for traces of tin lodes in the rocks. These when discovered, they worked singly or in small parties, satisfied with little profit for an enormous amount of effort. 

Sometimes a man would take a stint on a mine in one of the other parishes, and the whole family would work it in pairs each staying underground for two or three days and then returning home whilst another family pair would then replace them and thus some respite was obtained from the heavy toil underground. But Henry and Jane with their young baby were just starting out and they seemed to have moved down the coast to the edge of Morvah parish and it is here that the next of their children Jenifer was baptised  in 1823. A further three children Joanna (1826), William (1829) and Mary (1830) were born to the couple and all were baptised at Madron church. Little is known of the family at this time but the map above shows the area where they were living.

We next catch up with the family at the time of Henry's marriage to Margaret Vingoe. 

Margaret Vingoe.

Margaret comes from what we choose to call the St Just Line of Vingoe's. This line can be traced back to the beginning of the 17th century when  John Vingoe of Sennen married Joan Nicholls. You can follow the line down to Margaret on the Tree . We will continue our story with Margaret who is about to marry Henry Trembath   on December the 11th 1841 at Madron, in Cornwall. In the 1840's if a couple wished to marry in church then is was the norm to marry in the parish where the bride lived. To do otherwise would mean paying for a license which to a miners family was expensive. In the case of Margaret, the Census taken in 1841 shows her as living at Escalls in the parish of Sennen with her father (Stephen) and Mother (Jane). By December of the same year she was living in Madron Parish as that is where they wed and they did not marry by licence. 

When it came to baptisms then in most cases it was the norm to go to the nearest church.  Margaret and Henry's first three children were baptised at Morvah, but following the death of Michael their third child, (who was buried in Morvah ),    they walked over the fields to Sancreed on the 28th of May in 1846 for the baptisms of  the forth child who they also named Michael. On their way either to or from the church they may have called at the local holy well in the hope that a dip in the water would ward off the disease that took their last child. Even today people still visit the well some leaving behind a piece of cloth tied to the branches of the overhanging tree. It is said that as this rots so the persons health will improve.

   

                                    Sancreed Church                           & Sancreed Well

Their last child John was also baptised in the church at Sancreed.. A look at the map shows that they may have been living in the area where the four parishes of  Morvah, Madron, Sancreed and at the time St Just met. Pendeen not becoming  a parish until 1845 with its church being opened in 1854.  

Michael Trembath

Our next step along this line is to follow the second Michael  born 1846, who grew up around 

 

 

MICHAEL WAS BORN IN MADRON CORNWALL ENGLAND IN 1842. HE WAS CHRISTENED ON 28/05/1842. HIS FATHER WAS HENRY TREMBATH AND HIS MOTHER MARGARET VINGOE.

HE IMMIGRATED TO AUSTRALIA IN SEPTEMBER ,1867 ABOARD THE SHIP”JOHN TEMERLEY”

 

Walhalla is a small, beautifully-preserved historic town in the Baw Baw Ranges in Victoria, in the south-eastern corner of Australia. Only a handful of permanent residents live there today, but in the last decades of the 19th century, it was the heart of one of the richest gold mining districts in the world.

 

The alluvial workings of Stringer's Creek in the remote mountains of Gippsland, Victoria, grew into the busy mining town

WALHALLA IS A HISTORICAL TOWN NESTLED IN THE HILLS NORTH OF MOE.

WALHALLA WAS DISCOVERED IN 1862 BY MR STRINGER AND HIS PARTY. THEY WERE SEARCHING FOR GOLD IN THE HEAVILY TIMBERED HILLS AROUND SEATON AND MOE. THE AREA THEY FOUND WAS LATER NAMED MAIDENTOWN.

CONDITIONS IN WALHALLA IN THE EARLY DAYS WERE TRYING. THE VALLEY WAS HEAVILY TIMBERED AND VERY NARROW.  THE EARLY PIONEERS LIVED IN TENTS ALONG THE BANKS OF THE CREEK.

BY 1900 WALHALLA HAD GROWN INTO A MINING TOWN WITH A POPULATION OF 3000 PEOPLE.  THE PEOPLE BUILT THEIR HOUSES WHEREVER THERE WAS ROOM FOR A SMALL HOME. THERE WAS NO ELECTRICITY AND HOMES WERE LIT BY KEROSENE LAMPS AND CANDLES.

MOST OF THE SHOPS WERE BUILT ALONG THE CREEK ON A NARROW STRIP OF FLAT LAND.

The Long Tunnel Extended Mine, which operated between 1871 and 1911, was the most successful goldmine in Victoria and one of Australia's richest, with 13.7 tonnes of gold being extracted over the years. The mine covered ten hectares and consisted of 9 km of underground passages to a depth of 1000 metres.

THERE WERE EIGHT HOTELS , THREE BAKERIES AND ONE SCHOOL.THE RAILWAY LINE WAS SURVEYED IN 1907 AND COMPLETED IN 1910.

GOLD SUPPLIES HAD DWINDLED BY 1912 AND THE TOWN SUFFERED A STEADY DECLINE AND MOST PEOPLE HAD LEFT WALHALLA BY THE FORTIES.

WALHALLA TODAY IS A TOP TOURIST ATTRACTION AND RECENTLY ELECTRICITY WAS PUT ONTO THE TOWN AND THE RAILWAY IS NEARING COMPLETION.

 

http://www.walhalla.org.au/

 

http://www.gippslandtourism.com.au/Maps/ 

 

HE MARRIED ELIZABETH NOY ON 3/12/1871 REG NUMBER 3913.

MICHAEL DIED IN WALHALLA ON 28/04/1898. HE IS BURIED IN WALHALLA.

ELIZABETH WAS BORN IN MATLOCK AUSTRALIA IN 1845.

 

HER FATHER WAS MICHAEL NOY AND HER MOTHER ELIZABETH DODD.

HER FATHER DIED WHEN ELIZABETH WAS ABOUT 2 YEARS OLD AND HER MOTHER REMARRIED HUGH LORD MCKAY ON JANUARY 27TH 1855 IN RICHMOND NEW SOUTH WALES AUSTRALIA.

ELIZABETH NOY (DODD) AND HUGH HAD 6 CHILDREN.

 

ELIZABETH DIED IN WALHALLA ON 17/04/1892 AND IS BURIED IN WALHALLA.

 

ELIZABETH AND MICHAEL HAD 4 CHILDREN

JAMES BORN 28/03/1878

ELIZABETH BORN 02/02/1873

WILLIAM HENRY   BORN 31/07/1874

EMILY BORN 07/05/1882

 

JAMES TREMBATH

JAMES WAS BORN ON 28/03/1878 IN WALHALLA TO MICHAEL AND ELIZABETH TREMBATH. HE WAS THE THIRD OF FOUR CHILDREN . HE HAD A BROTHER  WILLIAM HENRY AND  SISTERS ELIZABETH AND EMILY.

JAMES GREW UP IN WALHALLA.

HIS HOBBIES INCLUDED FOOTBALL.

JAMES MARRIED FANNY JENKIN IN 1902 AND THEY HAD TWO SONS, LESLIE AND NORMAN. 

 

JAMES  AND FANNY LIVED IN MAIDEN TOWN AND IN 1904,  FANNY GAVE BIRTH TO A CHILD WHO DIED EITHER AT BIRTH OR SOON AFTER. 

 

ON 09.03.1905  A SON,   LESLIE ALFRED JAMES WAS BORN, FOLLOWED BY ANOTHER SON  NORMAN ERNEST IN 1907. 

 

James with son Leslie, Fanny Trembath holding son Norman, Aunt Emmie ( William and James’s sister) William is standing at head of steps, below is his wife Maria ,young boy on steps is William ,son of William, and his sister Freda is seated to right. Young girls standing on step are Ethel and Floss Friend.  Elizabeth Friend (Trembath)(James and William’s sister )           

 

ON THE 16TH MAY 1909   FANNY DIED AT THE AGE OF 32.  SHE WAS BURIED AT THE WALHALLA CEMETERY ON 18TH MAY 1909.

HER GRAVE STONE READS

 

 

IN LOVING MEMORY OF

FANNY

BELOVED WIFE OF

JAMES TREMBATH

WHO DIED 16TH MAY 1909

AGED 32 YEARS

ASLEEP IN JESUS, OH HOW SWEET TO BE FOR

SUCH A SLUMBER MEET

WITH HOLY CONFIDENCE TO SING THAT DEATH

HAS LOST ITS PAINFUL STING

ASLEEP IN JESUS, PEACEFUL REST WHOSE

WAKING IS SUPREMELY BLEST

NO  FEAR. NO WOE SHALL DIM THAT HOUR

THAT MANIFESTS THE SAVIOURS POWER

 

Three years after Fanny's death James married LAVINIA MARY MITCHELL.

LAVINIA WAS BORN ON 10.05.1885 TO JOHN AND DORETTA MITCHELL. SHE MARRIED  JAMES  ON 5.06.1912  IN WALHALLA. where SHE WAS  KNOWN TO EVERYONE AS ‘NINNY’.

 

JAMES AND LAVINIA TREMBATH ON THEIR WEDDING DAY JUNE 5TH 1912 AT ROSEDALE IN VICTORIA AUSTRALIA.

 

JAMES AND LAVINIA HAD FOUR DAUGHTERS, EVELYN  MAY , DORIS EMILY, BERYL AND THELMA.

 

DORIS, BERYL, EVELYN,NINNY, THELMA AND LESLIE

 

JAMES AND HIS BROTHER WILLIAM OPERATED THE CORNER STORE IN WALHALLA.

THE FAMILY LIVED IN MAIDEN TOWN.

JAMES DIED ON 21/05/1948 AND IS BURIED IN TRARALGON CEMETARY.

LAVINIA LIVED THE LATTER PART OF HER LIFE IN TRARALGON AT 134 GREY STREET.

and DIED ON 5/01/1969.

 

LESLIE ALFRED JAMES TREMBATH

 

LESLIE ALFRED JAMES TREMBATH WAS BORN TO JAMES AND FANNY TREMBATH ON 19TH MARCH 1905 AT WALHALLA.

LESLIE ATTENDED THE WALHALLA STATE SCHOOL AND GAINED HIS MERIT CERTIFICATE.  THIS AWARD IS GRANTED AT GRADE 8 LEVEL .  HIS FAVOURITE SUBJECT WAS GEOGRAPHY.

IN HIS CHILDHOOD LESLIE HELPED HIS FATHER AND HIS UNCLE IN THE CORNER STORE.  IT WAS LESLIE’S JOB TO DELIVER GOODS TO THE CUSTOMERS.  THE SUPPLIES WERE DELIVERED BY PACKHORSE TO THEIR HOMES.  LESLIE DELIVERED THE MILK BEFORE SCHOOL.  MILK CANS WERE PLACED IN CHAFF BAGS WHICH WERE STRAPPED TO EACH SIDE OF THE  HORSE.  MILK WOULD BE LADLED OUT TO THE CUSTOMER. 

WHEN LES WAS 15 YEARS OLD HE WENT TO LIVE WITH HIS UNCLE FRED AND AUNTIE HANNAH CHESSELL.  HE WORKED AS AN APPRENTICE CARPENTER WITH THE FIRM CHITTY BROTHERS.

HE WORKED WITH HIS COUSIN HARRY JENKIN IN THE BUILDING TRADE FOR 10 YEARS FROM 1920-1930.  THEY WORKED IN COLERAINE AND RUSHWORTH IN VICTORIA.

NOT LONG AFTER THIS, LESLIE WROTE TO HIS FATHER TELLING HIM OF THE LACK OF WORK.

AVAILABLE DUE TO THE DEPRESSION.  HIS FATHER HAD IN 1929 PURCHASED A FARM IN TRARALGON AND WROTE TO LESLIE TO COME HOME.  HE RETURNED TO THE STOCKDALE ROAD FARM AND WORKED IN GENERAL FARM DUTIES.  IN 1932 LESLIE MET HIS FUTURE WIFE HANNAH.

 

DORIS EMILY TREMBATH

Doris Emily was born in Traralgon on 6th February 1917, the second daughter of Lavinia and James Trembath.  She was one of four daughters, Evelyn, Beryl and Thelma.  She also had two stepbrothers Norman and Leslie from James’ first marriage.

 

Until she was twelve years old she lived in Maidentown, Walhalla.  She often spoke of the several miles walk to school each day through mountainous country where snakes and lyrebirds were often on the track. The corner store which belonged to her father and Uncle Bill was the regular stop off point to change into school shoes/boots and after school to have a snack before the long walk home.  Family life in Maidentown was quite protected from the outside world.  If a murder or tragic event occurred James would confiscate the newspapers.

 

When Doris was twelve years old the family left Maidentown and moved to a farming property in Traralgon. While there she attended Traralgon High School where she loved playing sport, particularly hockey. After completing her schooling at the profiency level (Year 9) she commenced work as a shop assistant at Lleytons, a haberdashery store in the town.

 

Evelyn, her older sister, had commenced nursing training in Melbourne and encouraged Doris to do the same.  In 1937 she took up the challenge commencing her nursing training at the Royal Melbourne Hospital.  Doris loved nursing even though it was hard work and poorly paid. She received awards for excellence during each year of her training.  While she was training at the Melbourne Hospital she met Lewis, her future husband.

 

It was wartime and Lewis left for three years in England with the RAAF. After corresponding over this period they were married in Traralgon on his return.

 

The following year, 1943 their first daughter Judith was born. Lewis returned to overseas service in New Guinea and Doris lived with her family in Traralgon.  A second daughter, Roslyn, was born after the war in 1946.

 

In 1949 they moved to their own home in Pascoe Vale, a new suburb in the north of Melbourne. Lewis, now out of the air force, commenced work at the newly established airline, TAA, at Essendon airport. Aeroplanes frequently flew over the home and visitors were always taken for a trip to the ‘drome’ or down to the railway station to see “the spirit of progress’ go through on its way to Sydney.     

 

For a period Doris had a third ‘daughter’ Julie, her niece who lived with the family as an infant due to her mother, Evelyn’s ill health.  Julie’s return to her own home prompted Doris’s return to nursing in the 1950’s.  She worked at Vaucluse Hospital, Moreland in the maternity ward for approximately twenty years. It was a very fulfilling part of her life.

 

As her family grew up, married and had children her main interests outside of work were family, especially the grandchildren, travel overseas with Lewis and the beach house at Blairgowrie.

 

On retirement Doris and Lewis shifted to Vermont South an eastern suburb of Melbourne.  They continued to enjoy visits to the beach house and the occasional pokie trip to the Murray towns. Gardening, knitting, cooking and sport, particularly the AFL team Carlton, were Doris’s favourite retirement pastimes.

 

After Lewis’s death in 1992 she enjoyed fellowship and trips with the Waverley war widows and legacy groups. 

 

Doris died on the 27th December 1995 after a short but debilitating illness.  She was well enough to spend a treasured Christmas with her family two days prior to this.

 

BERYL TREMBATH

 

BERYL WAS BORN IN TRARALGON TO JAMES AND LAVINIA TREMBATH ON 12.08.1921.

SHE HAD 2 OLDER STEPBROTHERS FROM THE MARRIAGE OF FANNY AND JAMES. FANNY DIED WHEN NORMAN AND LESLIE WERE AGED 2 AND 4.

BERYL HAD THREE SISTERS EVELYN, DORIS, AND THELMA.

THEY LIVED IN MAIDENTOWN, WALHALLA UNTIL BERYL WAS 8 YEARS OLD.

BERYL REMEMBERS THE LONG TREK TO SCHOOL EACH DAY FROM MAIDEN TOWN TO THE TOWNSHIP OF WALHALLA. (about 1 kilometre). THE CHILDREN WOULD WALK DOWN THE STEEP HILL THEN CHANGE SHOES BEHIND THE TREMBATH CORNER STORE.  MANY STORIES HAVE BEEN TOLD OF THE ADVENTURES THAT THE CHILDREN HAD ON THIS JOURNEY TO SCHOOL AND BACK.

 SOME DAYS THE FROST WAS SO THICK ON THE GROUND THAT THE GIRLS WOULD SIT ON THEIR SCHOOLBAGS AND SLIDE DOWN THE STEEPER PARTS OF THE HILL.

EVERY NIGHT THE GIRLS WOULD CALL INTO THEIR GRANDFATHERS NEAR THE ROTUNDA AND HAVE BISCUITS AND A DRINK BEFORE STARTING THE LONG TREK BACK UP THE HILL TO HOME. 

THE FAMILY MOVED TO TRARALGON AND BROUGHT A FARM ON STOCKDALE ROAD.  BERYL WORKED FOR MARG HOLT IN THE DRAPERS IN TRARALGON AND LATER WORKED AT THE AUSTRALIAN PAPER MILL AT MARYVALE. 

 

BERYL AND DOUGLAS SILVESTER WITH THELMA TREMBATH AND ARTHUR SILVESTER IN 1943.

 

BERYL MET DOUGLAS PHILLIP SILVESTER AND MARRIED ON 14.08.1943. THEY HAD TWO CHILDREN DAVID IAN BORN 14.07.1946 AND JENNIFER ANNE BORN 24.11.1950

THE FAMILY LIVED WITH THE TREMBATH FAMILY IN TRARALGON, WHEN BERYL’’’S FATHER PASSED AWAY. THEY LATER BUILT A HOUSE ON THE CORNER OF THE TREMBATH PROPERTY WHICH IS NOW 132 GREY ST (CORNER OF STOCKDALE ROAD AND GREY ST) TRARALGON.

BERYL WAS KEPT BUSY WITH HER FAMILY AND THE CARTAGE BUSINESS THAT THEY OWNED.

BERYL IS STILL VERY INVOLVED WITH THE UNITING CHURCH (Methodist) AND ATTENDS CHURCH REGULARLY.

SHE IS ALSO AN ACTIVE MEMBER OF THE PROBUS CLUB.  SHE SPENDS HER SPARE TIME ATTENDING THE CHURCH GROUPS, HOSPITAL CANTEENS AND VISITING THE HOSPITALS WITH THE CHURCH.  SHE STILL ENJOYS HER GARDEN ,  SEWING AND KNITTING.

 


 http://www.gardencentre.com.au/cgi-bin/resources.cgi